New PTT Group management in web admin
The GroupTalk PTT service has been updated with new “PTT Group management” settings in the web admin. This allows an organisation to centrally manage which PTT Groups a user shall automatically join when going on-line in the GroupTalk app on Android or iOS.
Settings for “Select PTT Group”
- Manually (as is today): the user will manually select which PTT group to join when a user goes on-line.
- Automatically: the user will automatically join the specified PTT group when the user goes on-line, but can afterwards manually select to join another PTT group.
- Always: the user will automatically be forced to join the specified PTT group and can never leave it, when the user goes on-line.
- Never: the user does not have access to the PTT Group.
Settings for “Scan Groups”
In GroupTalk a user can “scan” zero, one or many PTT Groups in addition to being in a primary PTT Group. The same settings are available for Scan Group as for Select Group; Manually, Automatically, Always and Never.
PTT Groups can be set to Listen Only, creating “Announcement Groups” that allow large number of users (currently up to five thousand users in a group) to listen into a group and restricting it so only one or a few users are authorised to speak into the group.
Illustrates the new PTT Group settings that are available in the web admin by clicking on “User categories” and “PTT Groups in this category”
- The user will “Automatically” join the “Downtown” PTT Group.
- The user will “Always” scan the “Announcements PTT Group, which means that the user can not stop scanning the Group.
- Listen Only is selected for “Announcements” which means that the user can only listen to what is being said and is not authorised to speak into that PTT Group.
- The user can “Never” listen or speak into the “Team Leaders” PTT Group.
- The user can “Manually” join the “West District” Group if desired, but will not join the Group when the user goes on-line.